Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author summarised the best way to explain the flexibility required for a law. He clearly stated that law should take into account circumstances, time and places which I totally agree because a law can never be universal. It will always depend upon various criterion and author has accounted them in a perfect manner.

Let us say there is a law which states a person should be hanged to death if he kills someone. Does this law will be valid for every "circumstance" ? No, its never gonna satiate every situation. If a person was attacked by some robbers and in self defence he or she killed the robber. Do the perpetrator deserves to be hanged because of the law which has been created considering its will be a perfect law for every situtaion. I will say it should never be true without considering the circumstances.

Secondly, coming to the next criterion of time. Time is indirectly related to circumstances. When thte time changes, the circumstances also change. For eg: if there is a revolt against a government which causes public property damage, violence then declaring a curfew is totally acceptable law. But if a government trying to stop even the public is showing its revolt in peaceful and through non-violence then its not acceptable. So, implementing the law at the right moment plays a vital role in its effectiveness.

Similarly, different places have different culture and making laws universally will never suffice the entire regions of a government. Rules like alcohol is prohibited, should never be put forward for every place. If needed it can be restricted to few places like church, school, institutions etc but not all places.

Any kind of rule with no proper care for time,circumstances and places will make people life miserable instead of fulfilling its basic requirement of enriching people lives. So, I stand by authors words that due care should be taken before making a law considering all possible criterion, specific place and time.