“Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”.

Laws are a set of rules and regulations that are put forward by authorities, so that individuals can lead a peaceful life. The debate, whether these rules and regulations should be implemented irrespective of various factors such as circumstances, times and places is contentious. I agree to that fact that the implementation of these laws is dependent on crucial factors such as circumstances, times and places.

First of all, Laws are implemented without taking into account the said factors so as to foster peace and hinder actions of individuals that are detrimental to the health of society. This enables every individual to control their behavior and lead a peaceful life. While this statement seems to be true, such implementation of laws considers all human beings to possess uniform characters and behavior. Moreover, such implementation of laws could also hinder an individual to exercise their fundamental rights, which could lead to public outcry. Throughout history, people have revolted against the government due to the laws which were severe and against the people that lead to many rebellions and wars such as the French revolution, the American Revolution, the Indian Independence movement. These movements and revolutions were a result of dissent and disagreement of the people against the obstinate rules and policies that hindered their freedom.

Secondly, inflexible laws leads to alienate the society and the government to grow and foster with changing times. Many countries had been implemented certain laws that restrict women the right to drive vehicles. This situation had received widespread criticism which denied the development of women, and thus the development of the community. However, some countries such as Saudi Arabia had recently took the matter into consideration and updated the law which enabled women the right to drive, thereby leading to women empowerment. Likewise, churches were not allowed to be constructed in the Middle East in the 1970’s.The laws were rigid that it hindered the growth of the attracting citizens from around the world. However, understanding the situation, various rules and regulations were amended that made countries such as United Arab Emirates to be a sophisticated country Therefore, it could be understood that flexible laws drives the development of the community and helps in attracting individuals with skills and knowledge that could foster development.

Similarly, laws should be flexible enough so as to make accurate decisions that brings justice to the community. There are situations in which an individual violates a law without purpose. Laws should provide a platform that gives flexibility to the authority to understand the circumstance and make decisions accordingly. For instance, heinous crimes such as murder are done by individuals. However, the decision makers should look into various factors that lead to the crime. There are chances wherein the crime was committed deliberately or for one’s own protection. In such complex cases wherein the situations change, laws must provide a framework so that correct decisions are forward tat commensurate with the situation and the nature of crime. Such a system helps in people to accept and respect the laws while maintaining peace in the society.

Laws help in bolstering peace in the society. However, if laws are made to be inflexible, it cannot be received in a positive light from the citizens, which could lead to widespread issues. Flexible laws helps in the development of society by understanding and respecting the human nature , empowering the needs of humanity and ,most importantly, making correct decisions.