Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them

A society is always looking for ways to cultivate eminent leaders. It is our greatest hope that enlightened men or women would qualify for leaders after well-devised trainings and real-world practices. Unfortunately, personality and tactics also play an important role in fostering leaders and may cause the process to fail if handled carelessly.

On the one hand, most outstanding leaders have put themselves through formidable tasks and challenges since they were young, so that they can become qualified for their desired role one day. They keep honing their skills and adapting themselves based on the demands that are place on them until they realize their goals. By way of illustration, Barack Obama, though grew up in a poor background and no one in his family expected him to be more than an ordinary person, had high requirements for himself because he wanted to become president of the US someday. He studied diligently, enrolled himself in a top law school, sharpened his knowledge in the law and the political system and built his connections, which later helped him win the presidential election in 2008. Had him not placed such strict demands on himself, he might just have had a life in obscurity.

On the other hand, not every person can be fostered to be a leader since personality plays an equally essential part in this. Although greater leaders have different personalities, most of them have some traits in common such as bravery. Understandably, fear is an innate nature of human and it is not a shame to have a more conservative personality. Nonetheless, people who are timorous would not be ideal leaders for any size of groups. Whether demands can change them is questionable, because it is highly probable that these people would not abandon their trepid nature even after intense training as innate personality is so difficult to shift.

Furthermore, some leaders are created by tactics, especially political leaders. They hire special think tanks to work on election tactics that target various ethnic and social groups. They spend more of their time on speeches that please their voters than searching for strategies to solve real social problems. Their goals are the power rather than the responsibility. Apparently, these leaders are not created by demands of the public for they have hardly fulfilled any of these demands. For example, it was against public interest for President George W. Bush to declare war on Iraq in 2003, yet he started it anyways claiming that there were weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. Within 8 years, thousands of soldiers were killed, and billions of dollars were spent. Sarcastically, no WMDs were found and the only winners in this war were large private weapon manufacturers and defense contractors. The public’s demands, it seems, have not left a single scratch on President Bush’s mind.

In conclusion, leaders can, to some extent, be shaped by the demands that have been put on them. However, personality also has a strong influence on a potential leader. Besides, tactics can sometimes be applied to create a leader, though he might not necessarily be a good one.