More and more people wear fashionable clothes. Is this positive or negative development?

These days, the popularity of fashion among the public is increasing. In my opinion, this is primarily a positive trend considering its effect on people and the society.

Firstly, the prevalence of fashionable clothes benefits people because it is a movement towards freedom of expression. Though technically everyone is free to choose what he wears, there are factors like conventions or peer pressure that limit his decisions. Fashion, however, encourages people to be proud of expressing their ideas, however different those are, freeing them from various constraints. The latest fade in women’s clothes, for example, is to be gender neutral, so that females can show others that they can be as professional and efficient as their male counterparts, and they refuse to be objectified, without having to worry about being isolated from the mainstream.

Secondly, this trend also exerts a positive influence on the society. Not only does the multi-billion dollar fashion industry create millions of jobs, but it also contributes money directly to the society, which can be used on projects like social welfare, medical care and education. The fashion retailer, ZARA, for instance, employs over 100,000 workers, not including those who are hired by firms to which it outsources parts of its business, and spends billions of dollars on taxes, donations and investments. As a result, people’s expanding interest in fashion help the economy to grow.

In conclusion, I believe that people’s increasing fascination with fashionable clothes is largely a good development. It is both a movement towards freedom of expression for people and a boost to economy for the society.