Young people should be encouraged to pursue long term realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition

Social media and the Internet have made it easier for people, especially the young, who are more tech-savvy, to become famous. Though gaining public attention and recognition may represent financial independence and freedom to some degree, the risks are staggeringly high. It is, from a personal view, more advantageous for young people to have a long-term, realistic pursuit.

Indeed immediate fame and recognition from the public can bring a youngster a large income and he may be able to support his family at a young age. This kind of financial independence is desirable to any promising young man. However, the downside is overlooked by some youth fervent about becoming famous. For one thing, only an infinitely small percentage of youngsters seeking fame can turn into successful stars such as Rihanna and the rest are quickly forgotten. Those who have spent years training to be a star but then failed would find themselves lacking the skills and energy to start a new career and may end up in misery. For another, even for young celebrities, life is not filled with fairytales. Greedy agents, fans with too high expectations, and, if unfortunate, demanding family members may push him to go to extremes and try dangerous things such as drugs. This is exactly the case for Lindsay Lohan, who used to be the most famous child star in the US 20 years ago.

On the other hand, a long-term and realistic goal plays a critical role in a young person’s life. One benefit of it is that it induces the young to accumulate knowledge and skills constantly and such accumulation is the foundation of success, since nothing can be achieved without an adequate amount of resources. For example, Barack Obama’s childhood goal to become the president has encouraged him to study and then teach the law for years and later his familiarization of the law system led to a huge success to his political career. Another benefit is that it serves to keep the young on the right track. As young people are full of curiosity and energy, they may be tempted to do harmful things and commit crime out of boredom. A survey carried out in Italy, for instance, shows that most of a gang’s members join it in their teenage years, a time when they need a direction of life the most.

It might be raised that the pursuit of long-term goals can lead to pain because it takes a long time for the young to feel rewarded. This argument is undoubtedly true but introduces an insidious misrepresentation: it equals instant easiness to long-term happiness. People would lose one of the best fast food restaurants if Harland Sanders, who founded KFC at the age of 62, quit his long-term goal to become a successful businessman. Young people need to be reminded that the pursuit of the most painful goal may lead to the happiest results.

In conclusion, it is a more beneficial idea to induce young people to seek a long-term, realistic pursuit. In spite of the financial independence that fame and recognition could bring to them, the side effects may be unbearable. On the contrary, a long-term and reasonable goal, though may cause pain, works to encourage the young to accumulate necessary resources for their future, helps to protect them from temptations and may result in true happiness.