The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With increasing materials and better life in modern society, more and more people have begun to enter a luxurious and convenient life mode. Therefore, this is a prediction that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life would inevitably prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. From my perspective of view, it is undeniably true that sumptuous and convenient life might lead people into degeneration. However, this doesn't mean that such external conditions necessitate such result. Moreover, it is also worth to point out whether people could become depraved under such circumstances actually hinges on many other factors.

Before elaborating my viewpoint, it is necessary to clarify the definition of strong and independent individuals. In my humble view, strong ego means that people possess stamina to make progress even under extremely difficult circumstance, while independence represents that their insights or ideas aren't easily swayed by others. All of those two factors conform the irreplaceable elements for our success. With such simply clarification, we can continue with our discuss for relationship between luxuries and conveniences of current life with strong and independent ego.

To start off, if people are given more luxuries and conveniences environment, they might more likely degrade and deviate from being strong and independent ego. On one hand, slugginess is the nature of people so that people are more likely to be indulgent with status quo when given with luxurious life situation. Additionally, because of conveniences of surrounding environment, they are also easily to adapt with others' choice in order to achieve their goal by so-called short-cut in either life or work. For instance, compared with 10 years ago, nowadays majority of students who prepare for GRE couldn't tend to recite so many vocabulary before their exam. Instead, they are more inclined to just recite some "highly frequent and necessary" words, which just guarantee them to hack a relatively good score.

However, tenable as such claim holds in the aforementioned case, I have to contend that such external conditions doesn't necessarily determine what qualities individuals would possess. That is to say, such better circumstances are likely to cultivate more strong and autonomous individuals. With regard to the first part, luxurious life does not always serve as the impediment for our shaping strong personal quality. It is because of such better material situation that people could be deprived from anxiety to solve with their issues in life and focuses on what they are devoted on. Moreover, convenience can't all the time make people avoid from strengthening their capacity confronted with challenges. Sometimes convenient situation to eschew with unfavorable circumstance could help people leverage better resources and figure out the emphatic parts.

Last but not least, given the complexity of surrounding for each person, it is necessary to emphasize that whether becoming truly strong and independent ego are subject to many factors beside such external situations. As people aren't living alone in society, many environmental factors for their life could contribute to their form of strong and independent ego. While external conditions, such as educations, family, help shape people's habits, other internal elements, such as personal life experience, love for their work or hobby, could also heavily impact their personality. However, contemporary life which only comprise one factors of those surely couldn't determine people's ultimate quality in term of whether they are strong or autonomous enough. For instance, despite the fact that Kobe Bryant grew from better family which make him free from worries about life, he also deliver on tremendous effort on his unique and life-long hobby: basketball, than majority of those effort spent by other sportsmen. This is a simple but persuasive case that the claim doesn't hold.

In summary, it is true that sumptuous and convenient life could make people lose motivation for their original endeavor and therefore decline the likelihood for them to become strong and independent ego. However, as discussed before, it is evident that people might make use of such advantageous conditions to accelerate their better characteristics. Furthermore, considering various factors in regards to people' forming stamina and desire for success, many other external and internal factors are involved in this process, which make the claim of the author seems too oversimplified.