The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

New, brilliant technologies are already in daily lives and significantly changed many people’s lifestyles. For example, in the morning, a smartphone rings to wake up a user and brief the weather outside and the news like a private secretary. How luxurious and convenient! There are various views on how this luxurious and convenient life affected on strength and independence of individuals. However, in order to evaluate whether the luxurious and convenient life positively or negatively affected one’s strength and independence, the definitions of them have to be presented first.

Firstly, the range of independence is broad: it can be simply resolving a problematic situation without other human being’s help, or more strictly, it can be doing all oneself without any help even from smartphones or other devices. To be specific, when a tourist is finding a restaurant with an exact location, all she needs to do is put the address on Google map. Then, the application will suggest public transportations such as buses or subways. If she is so tired to transfer buses three times as suggested by Google map, she might open another application, Uber, to call a cap. Although she might not speak the language where she visited, there is no matter to use the application. In this luxurious and convenient life, reaching a destination wherever one’s current location is, or however one can speak a language in a certain country is not a big problem anymore. One might judge this situation as independently resolved the problem while one judges it highly relied on the technologies, so not independent.

Secondly, strongness also includes various meanings. Strong individuals can be either physically or mentally strong. Contemporary luxurious and convenient technologies allowed people to be more physically strong: suggest nutritional supplements depending on individuals’ health states, detect cancers far earlier than 100 years ago, and schedule a gym routine. However, the technologies reduced the time to contact others face-to-face and share one’s story with others. It has resulted in detrimental effects on individuals’ mental health such as increased depression and increased suicide rates as reported by research. Thus, the assertation that contemporary life resulted in stronger individuals can be partially right in terms of physical health and partially wrong in terms of mental health.

No one will deny luxuries and conveniences of contemporary lives have significantly changed how individuals live their lives. However, evaluating whether the new life affected independence and strongness of individuals either positively or negatively seems controversial. Thus, clear definitions are required to discuss the statement.