The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today’s generation, with the help of technology and comfortable living, have been severely trapped into their comfort zone. This comfort zone has led them to rely upon facilities which make them weak. Although, all this luxury and convenient facilities have the sole purpose to make life easier and to focus on other important things in life - our dreams and ambitions and lead greater ideas. The following reasons will make you understand how this modern lifestyle provides support to people to become a strong and independent individual.

I agree that the use of facilities has impacted our generation to become languid and reliable towards those resources. This is because the pleasures that come with it have manipulated their brain to let the work be done without making their hands dirty. A strong desire to learn new things is necessary and to become independent is having this desire to learn to do things on our own. For example, if people have a cook in their home, then this facility won’t let you use your hands to cook food but someday may come when you will have to be prepared to do it on your own. Preparedness is a skill which this generation needs to learn and they will have to eventually. Thus, even though you have the luxury and comfortable living you will eventually be learning to do things when the time comes. The difference is that some people are prepared beforehand and some learn when the necessity arises.

The modern world has so much to offer and opportunities to learn and succeed which wasn’t available easily years before. It also provides the luxury which prevents us from doing mundane tasks and to focus ourselves onto the important things such as our goals and ambitions. For instance, with the help of Mobile devices and the incredible knowledge coming through the internet can develop new skills and study anything from anywhere across the globe. From learning to dance to programming anything is possible just at the convenience of your home and the hectic task of travelling can be avoided. If you are far away from home and you do not know how to cook pasta, you can simply search into your phone and make it. Learning makes you stronger and more independent which the luxury of this modern world provides.

Even though others would disagree saying that the luxury of this contemporary life has weakened our physical and mental ability to be firm and active. But I would say its upto us how to use it to our advantage. Hereby, I conclude that any resources are available to serve us and its upto us if we use it or misuse it.