The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

We live in an age where the level of technological progress achieved determines the path society takes in the forthcoming years. The pace at which technology is evolving is astounding. New products that make our lives better than they are, are launched every single day across the world and the business that is generated out of the need to make everyone’s lives better is in trillions of dollars. People argue that in addition to the unending onslaught of technological interference in our daily lives consumerism and luxury goods’ market has resulted in people leading a sedentary lifestyle and losing out on their originality apart from falling prey to peer pressure and wanting to follow the herd. Further, their submission is that the luxury and convenience that come with adopting a modern lifestyle is actually counterproductive and has made individuals bereft of their own selves and independence. I feel the extrapolation to loss of individuality drawn from the argument of convenience, lacks a solid backing and is too good to be true all the time.

The reality is while there is a certain degree to which people are influenced by technology, that does not rob them of their individuality and is in fact an enabler to enhance their productivity. When computers were first developed, they had a different purpose altogether. With advancements over the years, when Steve Jobs brought out the Macintosh and the personal computers’ market boomed, it created many self-employed individuals who used the devices for not just working better and faster but also managed to run their own businesses more efficiently. In the year that we all are in right now, with products like iPad, MacBook, people are not only starting their media platforms but also are using it to develop their personality on many counts. While a few use it for their podcasts, others use it for writing their books. In addition, adopting a modern lifestyle not only enhances productivity but also helps us handle things more efficiently.

While it appears to be an effect of ‘consumerism’, the theme of comfort living and easy going has influenced the way people perceive the idea of comfort. Earlier life in a city meant quicker commute to and from the workplace with cars and buses coming up and opening a plethora of travel options to the public. Now, the very concept of a workplace has undergone a sea change and that too, in a manner that no one would have imagined, courtesy the COVID 19 pandemic. With concepts such ‘work-from-home’ and hybrid mode of working becoming the norm, comfortable living is no longer an exception and is here to stay.

However, just as there are shades of grey to every black and white theory out there, the premise that there is no effect on individuals on account of adopting a more modern technology led lifestyle is not without its share of flaws. People’s behaviour towards their immediate family and their peers takes a hit as they are immersed in the use of mobiles or iPads for their own needs. With the emergence of social media, they have become slaves to the very technology that was supposed to benefit them, at the cost of not only their attention but also at the cost of their mental health. A consequence of the adoption of a luxurious and comfortable lifestyle that has been seldom discussed or highlighted is the associated growth of a mental wellness industry. The latter bases itself on the very values which are anathema to modern living and feeds on the monotonicity of the urban lifestyle . Feeling lazy? Go out for a walk and not order from the phone! Growing fat? Exercise well and go out and play on the courts, not on playstation! While it may not be testing a person’s individuality, it might be testing his or her limitations when confronted with technology that makes their lives easier.

While creating a market for the wellness industry, the lifestyle changes that have occurred have no bearing on people’s individuality. For people to be strong mentally and retain their independence, variables such as the environment in which one was brought up in and the values instilled in them when they were children determine their resistance to the negatives that come about with adoption of technology. Furthermore, it is also well established that their conditioning while growing up and experiences during their growth, influence their openness or closedness more. Those who are productive, strong and are fiercely individualistic by nature, would also be the ones who would be on their devices for a large part of the day and prefer luxurious travel and comfort lifestyle, should their earnings be commensurate to match it. It is a strawman argument to link a person’s individuality and comfort or convenient living where everything is available on mobile applications at the click of a button. In conclusion, to blame changed lifestlye for loss of individuality is to turn a blind eye to the actual factors which influence a person’s individuality and inherent resilience amidst a host of problems that he or she may encounter in life.