The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

People have a tendency to assume that the ones lived in the past had completely different lives than theirselves but history shows the people it is not true. That’s why history is a very important area to study. Otherwise memorizing the previous events does not benefit at all.

First and foremost, the nature of the humankind does not change. However, people think that their nature is superior than the societies lived in the past so that they cannot go through the same things as the previous ones. But if they look at the past and compare it with the presence, they will see much more similarities than the differences. For example, the competition between the countries to become the most powerful is still ongoing like in the times of world wars or cold war. Only difference is that it is not that obvious now until you want to see it is happening.

Once we understand that the people lived in the past is just like us we can use history to take lessons. Let’s consider Hitler, for example, German nation chose him as their leader by democracy but they did not question his actions for a long time and let him to collect more power onto himself which results in the one of the most terrifying memories in the late history.

If history can be read well to understand the causes and effects of the events accurately, we can use it for our lives to not to repeat the same mistakes that our ancestors did.