The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Although it seems like the welfare of a nation may be negatively affected when corporations selfishly try to make maximum profit. However, it does not have to be the case because of the two main reasons which are the effect of globalization and the concerns about consumer satisfaction.

First of all, we are living in a time of globalization which means that most of the companies export their products abroad to have a large number of consumers. Thus, the general welfare of a nation even increases when the companies export more to maximize their profit. Take for example, the USA into account which is widely known as its capitalist system, there are vast number of companies that export their product worldwide in the country and the welfare of the Americans is ahead of many nations around the world.

Moreover, corporations have to reach maximum consumer satisfaction to be able to keep making maximum profits in the long term. This means high quality products and services are supplied to public so that the welfare of the people will be improved.

In summary, corporations' aim of maximazing profit does not have a negative effect on the welfare of a nation but instead it helps to improve the welfare.