the desire of the corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

What is the desire of a corporation when they inaugurate/ start their business and work? It is obviously the profit. But when the profit is taken unnecessarily by exploiting the people, it is the commoners who suffer. I agree with the statement that the desire of the corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

Most of the governments usually give permission to corporate giants to launch their companies. Those corporations have the money, Principal and wealth to invest and have a good hold with the government authorities. One good example is Reliance Industries in India. They have huge buildings and businesses and loot the people by extra charging. By "hook or crook" they will earn huge profits. As a result the general public suffers. It makes the rich richer and the poor poorer.

Mahatma Gandhi once said, "When you start a new project, think about the poorest person in the society and ask, how it will be beneficial for that person?" One needs to analyze and ponder upon the real intention of the multinational corporate when they start their business. To just cover their illegal incomes and to distract the general public, those corporate might help some common people and the general public is tempted to go to them again and they are hugely profited.

What is the general welfare of the nation at large? It is the development of all the people, not a selected few corporate millionaires. Billions in the world want their basic needs to be fulfilled in their lives and thus a holistic comprehensive development is the need of the hour. People needs the fundamental needs like proper medical care, food, water, education etc. Thus the desire of corporations to maximize profits is a matter to ponder.