A nation requires all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

These are the days when people shift from one city to another or from one State to another within a nation. In such circumstances students have to shift their school to different states. In a few places, students find it difficult to continue the studies as they experience a new or different syllabus. Here comes the important question. Does a nation require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college? Yes, the students should study the same national curriculum until they enter the college.

Cental Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in India has a centralized curriculum for its school going students. India has 28 states and the students may shift their places of study due to their parents' transfer. But as the CBSE curriculum is same everywhere, the students those who study in CBSE schools get continuity in their studies and their is no confusion too. On the other side, think of a student who shifts to another school is getting an entirely different curriculum. The connection and continuity is lost and it may take some weeks or months for that student to come on the track. That may affect the student intellectually and emotionally as he or she is not able to improve like other students who have been continuing with that curriculum.

Another example is the Senate of Serampore University in India which deals with the department of Theology. It too has a strict curriculum where all the students compulsorily have to take certain courses. The indvidual colleges also have the freedom to add some extra courses. But the mandatory courses are same everywhere. Thus, even when the student changes the college, he or she will be able to continue their studies without any distraction.

It is true that the students need to be taught independently and they should be taught a variety of subjects. But as part of uniformity, it is required of every nation to follow the same national curriculum. USA, with 50 states, boasts of millions of students. If a student from New York goes to Miami and could continue in the same curriculum, that might give such a great relief for him or her. Though children are quick in adapting, changing the places may affect them emotionally too. When facing new places and new circumstances and if the curriculum of the study too is difficult, that may bring adverse effects. There must be some core subjects in the curriculum for all the students for the entire country and the schools must be given the freedom to add a few extra subjects based on the motto of the school.