In order to attract more viewers and for monetary reasons, the time devoted to weather and local news should be kept like that of the former level.

The business manager's argument that, in order to attract more viewers and for monetary reasons, the time devoted to weather and local news should be kept like that of the former level is logically not convincing due to the following reasons.

First, the business manager did not explain the reason for the increased time devoted to the national news in the late-night news program. Why was there a shift in the content? Is it because the people are interested to watch the national news? Why did they decrease the time allotted for the weather and local news? Are there serious reasons behind that?

Second, the complaints in the last one year from the viewers are in relation to the weather and local news. Is it because of the less time devoted to the weather and local news or some other reason? Probably, the weather reports or local news are reported inaccurately or partially and as a result the viewers are complaining. The percentage of the viewers are not mentioned. Are all the viewers complaining about the weather and local news? Perhaps, the viewers are farmers, who need to know the details of the changes in weather. It is not mentioned that the viewers are reducing. The complaint is only about the content. May be the one who presents the news is not presenting it properly too. Thus, reasons should be noted of.

Third, the local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts. The business manager should find out the real reason. Is it because they are not happy with the content of the news program? Are there any links between the less time devoted to the weather and local news with the cancellation by the local businesses? Those businesses may not be happy with the entire program as such. Probably they have found another program where they can advertise and can get more viewers. That may have no relation with the less time devoted to the weather and local news.

Thus based on the above reasons, the business manager should seriously think of his argument and find the real reasons behind the problems of the late-night news program.