A society should prepare its young people for leadership in government or other industries by instilling a sense of cooperation than competition

We are living in a competitive world. The best is selected out after the competitions. People wants to be in leadership 'by hook or crook.' In such a scenario, is there any role for the cooperation? How should a society prepare its young people for leadership in government or other industries? By instilling a sense of cooperation or competition? Of course, competition is good to produce the best, but there are many disadvantages associated with that like rivalry, hatred and chicanery to reach the top spot.

If a society can prepare its young people with a sense of cooperation, that will produce quality young people for the future. In a world of selfishness and self promotion, the virtue of cooperation is rare, but that is necessary. The saying goes like this, "United we stand, divided we fall." If the people in the institutions, organizations, governments and groups could cooperate each other, that will ultimately benefit them for the smooth functioning.

Mohandas Gandhi, who is called as the "Father of the nation of India" learned this principle of cooperation. When India was under foreign powers, Indians were not cooperating together as all leaders wanted to be the supreme. But when Gandhi came to the scene, he promoted the sense of cooperation among the leaders and the people. To him, national needs should be given importance. Thus the competing leaders cooperated and at last India got its independence in1947.

We hear about factions in religious organizations who are supposed to be the channels of peace and cooperation. The competitions among the leaders lead those organizations into a downfall. What are the reasons behind most of the fights in the world, whether it is between nations or ethnic groups ? It is the competitive spirit. "I am the top, you obey me" mentality is increasing among some leaders who wants to lead their nation in hegemonic ways. Eventually, extremism and wars are increasing.

For today's society in general, which promotes selfishness, egalitarian society is a Utopian idea. But, if all could work together, they can bring a new generation for the future with a sense of cooperation and love. Thus, the society must strive to instill among the young, a sense of cooperation. As a result, the world will get the benefit. The world will be more peaceful and joyous.