According to the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company, it should allocate a greater share to its budget next year for advertising to reach more public

The argument by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company that, it should allocate a greater share to its budget next year for advertising to reach more public, is lacking strength as it is based on some vague assumptions. Though the argument seems plausible, it needs to be examined.

Firstly, according to the recent report from the marketing department, in the past year, fewer people attended their movies. What are the reasons for the decline? Is there any significant change taken by the company's management? Is the quality of the content not enough or satisfying the viewers? Is the cost more in Super Screen Movie Production Company when compared to other similar companies? Do the people go to other movies because of some other factors? These queries need to be answered.

Secondly, the assumption that the percentage of positive reviews increased during the past year needs to be evaluated. By what percentage those reviews are increased? If there were 5 positive reviews out of 50 last year and if there are 8 positive reviews out of 50 this year, technically it is an increase. But it is not a great increase too. The percentage of the increase is not mentioned which needs to be examined.

Thirdly, the advertising director clearly assumes that the contents of those reviews are not reaching the necessary number of prospective viewers. What were the steps taken by the company in the past to reach their viewers with the review contents? Did it give any favourable results in the past? If they painstakingly advertise, will it bring the expected results? Assuming that the content of the reviews not reaching the people as the key issue is very vague. There might be some underlying reasons behind the decline. Those need to be analysed.

Fourthly, the advertising director emphatically concludes that the problem lies not with the quality which must be evaluated. People, of course look for the quality. Did the director talk with the viewers or get any feed back from them? How can the director take such a strong position based on these unconvincing reasons? Ultimately, allocating a greater share of its budget next year mainly for advertising may be a short sighted decision.