The main objective of education is to procure a job

Education is the foremost birth-right of an individual. It shapes young minds and therefore, helps for the benefit of the society. A well educated person will contribute more to a society than an illiterate one. Since chilhood, we have been taught that having a good education will help us secure a good job. We should not ignore the fact that there are many examples of world-famous personalities like Hon. Prime Minister who did not get a good education but have acquired a postion of authority now. Hence, the main objective of education should be to enhance our knowledge and not to just procure a job.

We can agree with the fact that a good education can help one secure a job with good amount of salary. But that does not mean the person getting a good job does not have any knowledge. He has taken efforts at the best of his capacity to make sure he passes all of the employment assessments. Consider for example, an individual gets a good amount of package at a multi-national company (MNC). If he had just taken education for the sake of procuring a job, he will not take any efforts to groom his skills and knowledge and thus, will not be able to pass any kind of assessment or interview.

Consider a Computer Engineering student has a good academic record. Of course, academic grades need to be taken into consideration by the recruiters. But, if that student does not have any skills required by the industry then his probability of getting selected is very minimal. On the other hand, if one student is proficient in technical skills which are required by the industry and has a good academic record, the chances of him getting selected are very high.

This does not mean that a student should start mugging up all of the technical knowledge and skills required. In order to be technically proficient, he should start applying that knowledge and skills to find the right solution which can benefit the society accordingly. This will help him secure a good package and procure a job in top MNCs.

An important point to consider here is our education system does not teach us any of the soft-skills. These skills are very important in the corporate world. Leadership qualities, team building and presentation skills are required in high demand by the industry. Someone who does have these skills inculcated within himself will not be able to survive in the long run.

In conclusion, we can say that education is necessary to procure a job but by developing knowledge and not just having good grades. Academic records are important but there should be a balance between a good academic record and having industry-ready skillset.