Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the claim that Mass media and the internet, even though have caused people's attention to get shorter, overall have provided positive effect and have proved to be beneficial. Internet provides surge of information about every field possible, and mass media and internet supported platform provides these information to public in variant ways, thus overall providing a wide array of information to choose from.

If, for instance, we take the example of Instagram platform, it has wide variety of pages and profiles which deals with various field, some deals with facts, some with current political trends, fashions, Hollywood, Bollywood, education and many more. People following these pages are exposed to ample of information in real-time. It is true the information provided in these platform are rather precise, but that is to provide a quick screening process for the user to choose from, and then, there is also an option to read more about it. This way person is exposed to all kinds of knowledge, they are aware of top news, trends, and can also acquire detailed information of the field of their interest.

If someone is watching a news channel, they broadcast information about any particular news for hours and it is kind of redundant too, spending an hour in front of television, can let you get the news about limited number of topics, but browsing internet, we can search directly the field and the latest news around it. Now a days, any important news are first reaching to people in the form of these social media platform. We instantly get the notification from these websites and helps us to be up to date without spending much time searching for right television channel or waiting next day for the newspaper.

Internet and Mass media have helped people to develop the enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information. It is an essential ability of person to sort the information and read only the required part. People must know how to grasp maximum in minimum span of time and social media have been blessing in enhancing this ability. People have developed a sense of their need, interest and passion in better. If someone is constantly reading and viewing the content related to sports, he is sports fans. Internet is helping people to develop interest in the field of their liking.

Thus, considering the above points, it is clear that, though internet have caused people's focus timeframe to get reduced, it also at the same time have been positive and have been proving out to be beneficial to human being by developing better mental abilities of focus, sorting and exposure.