Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our generation, each individual has an access to internet and media. We spend two-third of our time interacting with one on the other and thus they cause our attention to be divided. Saying that we can make a call that mass media and internet being the necessity of the time have positive effect on the selection of important things in people's life.

Internet serves as a large medium of information where one can find anything he/she looks out for. The major dilemma is to find the right one at right time. If we consider today's news channels, like CNN might be showing a news on the recent political change in our government and how they achieved victory in these elections but Times might be telling us the reasons why the losing party was not able to hold on to their seats. A person attention is divided among different channels and sources and thus leads to deviation in concentration. as we conveyed, a person get's more information on a single topic and therefore it increases their knowledge about the same. Internet provides us with multiple options to choose to and even judge them on the reviews provided by experts in that field and thus helps in better judgement.

Mass media and internet being a source through various mediums, offer an individual a particular response which he/she may not seek at that moment. At that time, with their enhanced ability to categorize the information, it provides an overview from which one can select the best answer they seek. Obviously an individual won't be able to give attention to each topic but provided with large options they can make a better call on the important factor. An undergraduate while looking for his/her options for the Post graduate colleges can make a better call by reviewing each college through internet and their presence in the mass media. Continuing to the selection process, they can speak to alumni of that particular college as they can provide them with best judgement and reviews of that college. Thus having more options from choose to and provided with answers for the best information always helps an individual in making a best call.

Though these sources have large information and ability to enhance our decision, we still can't neglect the fact that they have caused a lack of concentration and trust in an individual. People are always in a lookout for a better deal and information and thus they don't trust until they are provided with all facts and figures. Presence of these mediums has led to a gap between the individuals and they seek all the answers on these sources. As we always regret the deal we never heard of, through the presence of multiple options on internet one can always be regretting and will have fickle mind.

The mass media and internet provides an individual with a better judgement through large information and sorting them out in different categories. It's always beneficial to have more and better options.