The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The cafeteria in schools are very important as the students spend half of their time in school, they imitate and copy the habits they learn, thus making them eat healthy should not be an option but choice. The healthy food is not an option but a need of the hour. The amount of junk food and unhealthy drinks students drink today can lead to serious problems in the future.

The Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private sector, Swift Nutrition in order to indulge students in eating healthy. In the present, the condition of our youth is pretty sad as they involve themselves in irregular and unhealthy eating habits which leads to problems in their future with hefty medical bills and diseases which are quite serious. The Swift Nutrition provides the answer to these problems by providing healthy food to these students which will make them fit and healthy. The amount of high-fat and high-calories in the junk food causes obesity and lead to an unhealthy life routine which they follow their whole life. A student imitates the actions and copy the habits which they learn in their childhood, and so if we don't make them aware of eating healthy and staying fit, then it's a failure from everyone's side.

The students bringing their less healthy lunches and eating them instead of cafeteria food is failure on the both sides - parenting and the school management. Healthy food even has options which may not be that tasty and enjoyable but they are rich with nutrients and vitamins needed by a student at this young age. Students in our generation doesn't get involved it outdoor sports and activities much and thus leading to an unhealthy life with diseases and obesity. Providing them with no other option than Swift Nutrition, makes them try this healthy food which benefits them in the future. Replacing Swift with another vendor is not the solution, whereas making students understand the value of eating healthy should be the motto. Student indulging in unhealthy eating once in a while is manageable but taking that as a habit is bad and no school would think of doing that. Students spend half of their day in the school premises and if we don't make them aware of benefits of being healthy then school is at failure.

The step which the school can take is to hire another vendor with limited options of providing less healthy - high-fat and high-calorie meals which may compensate for some. Still eating unhealthy and changing the vendor is not the solution. The students should see the benefits of this change and the changes in the eating habits will lead to a healthy life.

The statement that it will be a serious health consequences for Academy if vendor is not replaced can be taken as a monitoring point and the school can provide with more options of food. However, changing the vendors is not the step they should take and make students aware of the benefits of eating healthy.