In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

The argument restates Einstein’s words that Imagination is important than knowledge. In this competitive world, nearly everyone would have realised this statement themselves and have acknowledged it. The author mentioning that it is so in most professions has a slight deviation as imagination has a wider role in all professions no matter what.

Right from childhood, be it schooling or college, all students are so used up to the habit of memorising the fact and developing the ability to rewrite it. Imagination has no role to play in it. In such cases, information accumulation has helped out a lot. Though the kid who had learned all the formulae was appreciated by everyone as a bright one, after crossing adolescent the kid is expected to have creativity and individualistic thinking. Such is for all including professionals. Knowledge may lift anyone up only to a certain point but after that it is not the learning ladder that will be given but the creativity rope which will be thrown for all to catch.

Speaking about imagination, it is something that will never get exhausted. It will always be flowing from a creative person the consequence of which will be finding new solutions for the challenge thrown or choosing a new approach for the task given. Many OEMs especially in automobile sector have begun to entrust crucial tasks to their new comers since the knowledge accumulated for all these years by the experienced has reached a saturation level and their minds got all clogged for letting any imagination inside.

As the world is getting more competitive, the only attribute that distinguishes the successful person from others is their capability to bring out their imaginative mind on board. Knowledge can be gathered by any one with strong memory but imagination is the individual characteristics reflecting the intrinsic talents of concerned. All sectors including schooling which is considered purely knowledge based is also getting transformed into creativity based owing to the nature of need.

Above all, technology is changing steadfast that knowledge and data are everywhere and anywhere. So it is not the data proclaimer that is demanded but an imaginative person who can find out of the box application of those data. It is also true that the data can be availed at all places because someone had imagined them once upon a time. Thus imagination is what drives the mankind as a whole to the next level. No one can deny that knowledge is the basement and without it nothing can withstand. But if a person relied on only his education, then she will be ostracized in due course of time. Imagination can somehow beat up the storm without the intervention of knowledge but not vice versa.

It is very much essential to bring out the creative power in students right from their schooling so that they can dream and create what they have dreamt in any profession that they choose.