A nation should require all its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

In this diverse and vibrant world, there is a huge difference in the curriculum across a nation. Each state has its own teaching and courses from the kindergarten to high school and thus there is a massive disparity in the way the education brings about changes in an individual. The notion of having the same national curriculum is a promising prospect as it not only provides a similar platform but also paves the way for a better curriculum. Though there is, of course, the issue of loss of diversity in the way students are brought up.

I strongly agree with the recommendation that the nation should have a national curriculum. Firstly I would like to point out that a national curriculum will provide a better quality of education as it will involve collective collaboration from numerous regions of the country. This provides a sense of unity as people learn about different cultures, people aided by improvement in the overall structure of the curriculum.

Secondly, this will assist in the future for the admission process as every individual is gauged based upon the same difficulty and syllabus of the exam. Thus, it puts a full stop to biases happening due to erratic examination pattern for different regions. So a student who has performed extremely well in his region where the curriculum is easy as compared to another student who has scored less in his more competitive curriculum will be able to secure admission to good colleges.

Another great point in this novel idea is the introduction of interactive teaching methods and interesting subjects. when a curriculum is decentralized, quality of education hampers and it is very difficult to regulate the entire education system. By having a centralized curriculum, there will never be dearth in the quality as the entire system would be regulated by an entity. For example, there is a vast difference in the quality of education in rural areas as compared to urban areas.

Thus, the numerous advantages of having a national curriculum until the student enters college will greatly improve the entire education system by uplifting its standard, providing diverse courses and ending the bias due to a different school in college admissions.