A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

I do not completely agree or disagree with authors assertion that all students should study the same national curriculum. I do believe some things thaught to students must be common however this caanot be generalized for everythong thing is to be thaught.

The reasons are elaborated in following paraagraphs.

Each student has different interests. Some are more inclined towards academics some more towards sports or maybe some more towards music or arts. If each of them is thaught the same curriculum, this would not give them enough time to pursue their passions which otherwise would have provided the world with another Mozart or Picasso. For example if a student interested in arts has to compulsarily study calculus which he might not have any use for in future leads to a waste of time, resources as well as talent.

The another reason why the curriculum should not be same nation wide is that, it would fail to account for the local issues. All students may learn the same thing and not have enough information about their local heritage. Take for example India, where each and every state has their own different language, different geographical conditions some are hilly states, some are desert states, some states line on planes some on plateaus whereas some territories are islands. All states also have different cultures, social structures as well as different econimc conditions. In such cases a common national curriculum for all would lead to students being not aware of their local problems as well as holds a chance of losing their language or culture.

The another issue is about differentely abled students. Each have their own difficulties and have different learning rates. These students must have their own specilized learning curriculum dependig upon their problems and this cannot be common nationwide.

However, there must be some part that must be common nation wide. These must be regarding the heritage of the country as a whole. Its geography, history, story about independence which must be common nationwise. Also basic concepts of mathematics, science cannot be different and these are necessary to be taught to all students even for their daily needs.

Therefore, there must be some parts in curriculum that must be same nationwide but there must also certain things that must be left for the states to decide. Also flexibility in curriculum must be introduced depending upon the students interest. This would create a nice balance in the curriculum as well as students life.