A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the pillars of economy and having an educated population enhances the development of a nation. A systematic educated system helps in having a unified baseline education. The prompt says that a fixed curriculum across a nation must be incorporated at school level. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the idea of a common curriculum for the following three reasons.

To begin with, at international level, for economic and development status, a nation's literacy and education is judged as a whole across the popluation than the contribution of individuals. It's important to have a fixed baseline education across the nation so that the a country can project it's progress. Consider India, it's said to be the second most populated country in the world and has it's people pioneering in majority of fields such as technology, space research, medicine, etc. Yet, it's still termed as a below par literate country owing to the vast majority of poor children and households who are taught basics of survival, cooking than any further. Had there been a fixed set of school and curriculum, then children would be educated with atleast the fundamentals and contribute to the nation leading towards an educated economy. It's important to adopt a national curriculum to project a nation as a thriving/educating economy.

To add further, a fixed curriculum would help a nation to conduct it's premier examinations as most of the students would be familiar with the topics. To illustrate, South Korea conducts it's college examination across the country for admissions to it's premier institutions. This is possible, only if all the students have the necessary basics to clear the examination. They follow a fixed curriculum till high school so that all the students are graded at a similar level. Had there been a school not following national curriculum, then the students from the school would be at a disadvantage as they would encounter questions from never seen before topics. It's feasible to conduct nation wide examinations if there's a fixed curriculum.

However, one might argue that having a fixed curriculum might impact students to miss out on their interests, or study something that they are not passionate about. For example, a student interested in art since his childhood would have to study mathematics, science, etc in which he's least iterested. If the national curriculum neglects fields such as art, sports, literature, etc then students would have to read the other subjects and start chasing their dreams in college. One can never address all the domains of education in a common curriculum and it would be harsh on the students who miss out on their passion.

To conclude, education is an always adapting field with many new areas being discovered. Having a fixed curriculum may seem like a viable option considering it's advantages, it still has a lot of deficiencies which would have to be addressed regularly so that students are not affected in following their dreams.