We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is a continuous process and the one which improves the personality of an individual. You learn from people in and around you. The prompt says that we learn more from people who conform with our views than those who contradict. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement for two reasons.

To begin with, people learn from the mistakes they have committed and one needs to be made aware of their mistakes to rectify and improve upon. For instance, World famous cricketer Sachin Tendulkar never received a "well played!" compliment from his coach. He was continuously pointed at his mistakes, asked to rectify them, and that automatically improved his game over the years. Had he not been contradicted of his mistakes or technique, he wouldn't have reached the cricketing heights. The above example illustrates that no one is born perfect, everyone learns from their mistakes and these can be pointed out by those whose views don't conform.

Further, having contradictory views stimulates our brain to think in different horizons. For instance, imagine a student painting a scenery of nature. The painting depicts the nature in it's best manner. The student turns around to look at another painting where abstract art has been done. Though the student did her best to paint the nature from her observations, looking at different paintings which contradicted her views stimulated her to think in a completely different aspect which no one would've thought of. Maybe a fusion of nature and abstract art. One can notice from the example that, by viewing different views of people, our brain gets stimulated to think in a novel way.

One can argue that contradicting views may affect the confidence of an individual and rather limit his learning than to improve it. Looking at the broad dimension of the prompt, one cannot narrow it down to a plausible conclusion. Every individual is different and what motivates a person in learning, what brings the best out of him, whether its conformity or contradiction is solely dependent on the individual.