The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate.

Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns.

Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services.

And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

An article in a magazine stated that Clearview is the best place to be retired because it has excellent health care opportunities, the mayor has promised a lot of development and that the costs would remain lower for a consistent period. However, one cannot be totally convinced with the article's claim until the following evidences are provided.

Firstly, the article states that Clearview has excellent health care opportunities as there are more physicians in the area. The higher number of physicians doesn't guarantee a better health care. Factors such as hospitals, insurance, subsidy on treatment, better doctors and staff, availability of latest machines, etc determine the state of the health care.A retired employee, with a history of heart disease would be happier if there's a hospital in the vicinity than a physician. A physician cannot completely cater to the different requirements of the patients. Unless there's an establishment of a hospital and state of the art health care equipment, with discounted operation facilities, then the claim regarding excellent health care can be justified.

Secondly, the mayor of Clearview has "promised" to improve schools, streets etc. A lot of political leaders promise multiple things, for example, Donald Trump promised to build a wall across Mexico border to curb illegal immigration. It's been more than 3 years, but still there's no sign of a wall. The mayor's promises are nothing but beguiling techniques to lure people. Promises are vocal statements and can be broken at any instant. A retired employee, investing his lifetime income for a place of residence shouldn't be deceived on false promises and should be chary about the promises. Unless there's a passed bill or an order for the development activities, there can't be conclusive evidence as to the promises made by the mayor would be fulfilled.

Thirdly, the article states that the housing prices would remain constant or less over the next few years. One cannot be sure on how the prices fluctuate across years. Housing is a booming industry and with increasing population and household, the demand for homes has increased, leading to increase in the cost incurred to purchase a home. The Clearview housing may not be popular at the moment, but as the demand increases, the prices may surge exponentially. This may impact the employees who would retire in a couple of years and would be hoping to purchase a home at the same cost as it is at the moment.Unless the mayor or the housing corporation sends out a notice or article that there wouldn't be any major surge in the housing costs, only then can the claims of reduced costs can be justified.

To conclude, the article states a lot of facts with unwarranted assumptions as stated above. Clearview can be termed as a haven for retired employees unless the necessary evidence is provided regarding the claims being made. Until then, the article shall remain flawed and retired employees would be looking for alternatives.