A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The topic of the issue here is whether or not a country should have a standardized national curriculum until the students enter their undergraduate degree. I strongly agree that a standard curriculum should be made for all the schools to follow until students enter college. I will be expounding on why I have taken this very stance, and why this system will be more efficient, and unbaised.

To begin with, if a standardized curriculum is brought into the education system, it will help all the students have an equinamous opportunity. For example, the universities while accepting student's application, they look into the type of curriculum, and the sundry of subjects the student has studied. This would be different for every student as he or she would have chosen subjects according to their interest. Now, what if the universities favour a particular student just because he or she has taken a particular example? Let's say, to get admission in a well esteemed university for a degree of Biotechnology the student is supposed to have taken 4 subjects relating to the biology as a minimum requirement. Not all schools will be having 4subjects related biology or biotechnology because the curriculum is not the uniform for all. Now, a student who wants to major in biotechnology cannot opt for this course because the school he or she has studies in, does not offer 4 courses related to biology. Should a student be denied an opportunity just because the school has not provided more number of biology relating subjects in its curriculum? This is extremely wrong and unjustified. And this predicament would be resolved only if all schools have the same curriculum.

In addition, different curriculums in different schools have a variegated tution fees. The private schools charge a larger amount of tution fees when compared to the public schools as they claim to provide a better learning experience than the public universities. And universities also favour or have a prediliction towards those students who have studied in private schools. But what about the students who cannot afford such posh and extravagent schools? They are being withheld from such an opportunity because they cannot afford it, which certainly not fair. If the curriculum is standardized, all schools will start to have tantamount tution fees and all students will be given an equal opportunity to prove themselves.

Furthermore, since there are a lot of different curriculums available, there is no way to tell which is better. For example, In India there are 3 different curriculums or boards, like ICSE, which is of international standard, CBSE which is the Central board of education and then there is state board where the curriculum is differnt for each state. Students are free to choose any one of the three choices mentioned above, but there is no particular way to determine which board is better. Each of them have their own pros and cons. According to a Harvard survey, In India, the colleges have a propensity for students who have opted for CBSE board for their 11th and 12th grade. Again here there is favouritism and is not fair to the other students who have opted for a different board.

To sum up what has been stated in analysis of the above issue, all schools should have the same curriculum in a nation until students go to college so that every child is given equal opportunity.