In the future nobody will buy printed newspaper because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The above prompt states that the sales of newspapers or books will reduce dramatically and nobody will buy them in near future as it will be available online where it will be free of cost. I strongly agree with this statement and the reasons for which I will be discussing in this essay.

Firstly, technology is advancing at an exponential rate in every aspect. Technology is omnipresent, and has become an arrant necessity to survive in today’s world. Especially during this lockdown time, when people are required to be ostracized to keep themselves safe, the e-commerce websites have become ubiquitous since it is more accessible and easier to operate. Another vivid example is, in schools and colleges, the reference material for a particular subject is uploaded online and students are expected and recommended to study and give exams online using a laptop. At this rate, there will be no need to print the textbooks for schools or universities.

Secondly, technology is gradually taking over print media. For instance, the most popular TV News channels like the NDTV, CNN, BBC, they have their own websites, blogs, pages on social media and applications where the newsfeed is available to the people 24/7 and are just a few clicks away. The famous magazines like The New Yorker, Scientific American, the Economist, etc., also follow the same strategy as it draws more people to read their magazines.

Lastly, there are a variegated advantages of reading online than offline. To name a few, online reading is more accessible, portable and free of cost. Books on the other hand are heavy and cannot be carried around all the time, it is not economical, financially and environmentally. On an average, at least 20 trees are cut down to make one ton of paper. In my opinion this is extravagantly wasteful because today we have tabs and amazon kindles, laptops, phones and other gadgets to read anything and everything we want and it is unnecessary to harm the environment.

In conclusion, although books give us a good feel overall, technology trumps it and circumvents all the limitations of reading through books. Hence, I believe that in future, technology will overtake print media.