A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Till the age of 18, students encounter a range of subjects in school. This aids them in identifying their interests and shapes their future choices. The prompt recommends all students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should not be compelled to select the same subjects for the entirety of their school for three reasons.

To begin, it might not be in the best interest of students to pursue all subjects up till the age of 18. This only gives students a broad overview of the subject. For instance, if a student seems to develop an interest in English literature and writing. The student would only be able to gather a fair amount of knowledge pertaining to their interest. They would not be able to get the best idea of the subject before attempting to take a specialized degree for the same. The knowledge they receive would not be vast enough to make this decision. The student would also develop intermediate skills of English literature and writing at a much later age. This would limit the growth in their interest. As illustrated by the example above, restricting the choices of students would hinder them from developing enough skills to decide their specialized skill for the future and delay the reach of their apogee and success. The nation would have a lower proportion of skilled and professional achievers.

Further, even if we say students are sufficiently provided with the knowledge to select their best interest, having a uniform curriculum might add bias to this selection process. For example, if the curriculum of arts subjects in school aren't designed in the best way possible, students would lean towards other professions. Due to the lack of enthusiasm generated by the limited arts subjects with limited scope, students would opt for other professions such as doctors and engineers where the science subjects were designed to instill more interest. This example depicts the bias that could be developed in choosing the future interest for students. This could lead to a nation with a less range of professions, and a scarcity of labour in some professions. This imbalance would perniciously affect the nation's economy and pose a vital dependency on international imports.

In addition to this, students might lose interest in developing themselves in the future as a whole. For instance, even in senior years at school, although a student seemed to like Math earlier, he was only provided with limited scope subjecs pertaining to it. Math only took up 5 percent of his studies. The remaining 95 percent would take up 95 percent of his time and effort. This created a sense of carelessness in the student and he lost interest in studies, even in Math, as a whole. The persistent boredom killed the will of the student. This example illustrates that by restricting the choice of opportunites for students even in their latter years of school, when they have enough knolwedge to know their interest, killed their hope and determination to pursue it. This decision might backfire, and create a large proportion of unemployed and uninterested adults, weakening the economy of the country.

Of course, some argue that my keeping a fixed curriculum, private schools would attract less students with their high fees, which would in turn, publicize public enduation and increase the revenue of the country. However, wouldn't this in turn decrease the revenue of the country? One would lose interest early and not be apt for their profession. One would peak late in their profession of interest. One would tend to not select certain professions. The economy of the country would thus, be weakned, leading to a lower revenue generation. At an adolescent age, students should be provided with options to aid them in selecting their specialized degree for college. Passing mandates only restricts one's true interest and potention and weakens the nation's economy as a whole.