Critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

To excel in any profession today, judgements and feedback are paramount to evaluate one’s work and aid in rectifying any areas fallen short on. The prompt recommends critical judgement of work in any given field be done by experts only, as others’ feedback would be of negligible value. In my opinion, I disagree with this suggestion as I feel the judgement made by an individual other than experts are of paragon importance for two reasons.

First of all, the points critiqued upon by the target audience would be more relevant to the aim of one’s work. It may provide feedback from a more distinctive individual to the maker. For instance, if a cartoonist is making an action comic for kids in the age range of 6-10, feedback from these kids on how much they enjoyed or what disinterested them would provide a whole different viewpoint to the cartoonist, which would otherwise not be visualisable to an experienced counterpart. The views provided by the expert might be biassed to the makers and not be suited to the kids, who the comic is being made for. As illustrated in the example above, judgements made by the consumer or audience that is utilising the work of a professional, would open the eyes of one from a while different aspect that the person could never have imagined alone.

Furthermore, in every field, we cannot assume that experts’ opinions are the very best. For instance, a mobile making firm would have the aim of dominating the market. The maximum usage originates from the teenagers, and what attracts them most is innovative and latest technology. Keeping up with the trend is essential for the firm. Experts, who have spent a relatively long time in the industry, would fall less for innovative ideas and would be less heretic. They tend to be stringent to orthodox workings, hence constructing a cogent idea for them might not be in the best interest of the teenager. What may be more relevant and propitious, would be a fledgling in the industry, who has a better outlook in terms of teenage wants, and a favourable chance of bringing industrious ideas to the table. This illustration shows how experts’ opinions are not always the most reliable in every field. Generalising this to various areas would be imprudent and act as a pin to the progress of oneself.

Of course, some may argue that experienced people know which ideas would work for the economy. But isn’t this exactly the reason why we should seek new opinions? “What works once in life, has a lower chance of working out again”. Change is always better and is more suited to the times. Judgements made by consumers of the idea bring a broader scope of thought. Judgements made by dilettantes in the field bring changes and innovative ideas. Over-reliance on the judgements made by experts would hold back the progress of oneself.