A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The standardisation of the school-level curriculum on a national level is an idea that has been considered and even implemented at varying degrees in many countries around the world. In my opinion, a step like this would clearly be a good idea for any country given the many benefits it affords.

Firstly and most importantly, it evens the playing field for all students of the same age in the country. The students with access to more expensive elite schools as well as public school children would all be studying the same curriculum, thus taking away the upper hand the privileged students would have. This would be a massive boost for the underprivileged class; not only would it improve the quality of the education being provided to them but it also means that the only way to make progress after school would be through hard work and intelligence. It would also allow a wider diaspora of teachers to work in all kinds of schools since the material being the same means more people would be qualified to teach it.

For example, in India, the national board Central Board of Secondary Education(CBSE) schools all have one standardised curriculum post elementary school irrespective of the school being private or public. This has reduced the gap between the students from both kinds of schools and now, students from government schools are considered at par with those from private institutions. This has also led to creating a more favorable public opinion of the education offered in government schools over the years.

On the other hand, some might argue that since all students are unique, a system such as this would take away the creativity children might need to get the best quality education for them. I feel like this is a fair point, and the standardised curriculum implemented has to keep in mind accommodations that can be made while keeping things as similar as possible to allow all students to still be able to tailor their education as per their unique skills and needs.

In conclusion, the right to education is a fundamental right for all humans and I believe that taking a step to provide the same thoughtfully-constructed national curriculum before college would help ensure that all citizens of a country are able to have access to a quality education, not just an average one. This would arm them to be able to take on life much better equipped, and reduce the gap that being born with/without privilege has created for them.