A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The way of carring out elementary education has long been a heated topic. Elementary education has important functions in cultivating teenagers and selecting talented people for the whole country. There is a seemingly reasonable proposal that the whole nation should give the same curriculum to all of its students prior to college. However, several consequences are likely to render the suggestion impractical.

Admittedly, we can not ignore the benefit of same curriculum. If all students take the same course, we can easily standardize the selection process of university admission. Suppose that everyone takes the same combination of courses. In that case, we can simply give everyone the same testing paper and add the score in each subject together to calculate the total score of each student. This ensures equality to some extent as every student will get a rank among all peers in the same nation, and we can admit students according to this rank. Besides, if we delete all elective courses and only set the same complusory courses, we can decrease the total number of courses, which enables us to concentrate our resources on them. To be more specific, this allows us to invest more money in one subject, which results in better teachers and more mature teaching material systems. In this way students get better education at their elementary stage and this is beneficial for the university and the society.

However, it is hard to implement this policy. We can not ignore the fact that different students can have quite different capacities and different interests, and it's hard to regard them as the same product in a factory. For example, history and computer science are two quite separate subjects, and it is not wise to simply add these two scores together. We should notice that most students have a preference in certain subjects while they really dislike other subjects. Forcing them to focus on a mandatory subject that they dislike can have severe consequences. They will be disgusted with studying and they can even lose their initial interest and talent in their favorite subject. Also, forcing them to take a test in the subject that they are not good at makes these students less competitive when they apply for universities and creates an unfair disadvantage. It is better if we can discover and respect the personal preference on some certain subjects, and allow them to make a choice of courses within a certain range. If the ministry of education can improve the university selection process considering the course selection of each unique student, it will be a more efficient and reasonable method of admitting students.

Moreover, the diversity of university majors and jobs make the flexibility in course selections necessary. With the rapid development of the world, the number of university majors is expanding rapidly, which can correspond with quite different type of students. It is recommended that we start to classify the student before they enter the university, give them some basic knowledge and professional training before they enter university so that they could be well prepared and better adapt themselves into the university major education and the future job market. In contrast, if we insist giving the same curriculum to all students, they will lose the precious chance of entering the specific field of research and work early, leading to a loss for both the job market and the university.

In conclusion, considerting the advantage in terms of standardized tests and fair selection processes, the idea of requiring all students study the same national curriculum before college seems persuasive under certain conditions. However, owing to its possible consequences this policy would lead to, it's still inappropriate for the govrnment to follow the proposal.