A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

National curriculum is believed to be a set of curated topics prepared by the Ministry/Body in charge of educational matters in a country. While some might be in support of all of its students taking a generalized curriculum before going for a specialisation in college, others would be in support of a student sticking to a curriculum that tallies with his desired career path before entering university. With the 2 points below, you would get to understand why I strongly want students to take a unified curriculum before gaining admission to college.

To start with, students being allowed to take shared curriculum in a country is actually for a good cause. For instance, in Nigeria. According to the educational standard followed, students across the nation use a shared curriculum for their first 9 years of academics, afterwards, they can pick a specialisation that suits their preference. During their time in college while they focus on their specialisation, a general course still gets introduced that has little or no relationship with their specialisation, but the students do perform well when examined because of their extensive background that makes it easy for them to ace test from any category tested from. Also, the shared curriculum allows the students to gather sufficient knowledge of the possible areas of specialization which further guides their career trajectory as they are already informed. When the graduates get employed, they end up to be adaptable which is a reflection of their foundation. Going by this, one can see how students being allowed to take a uniform curriculum before choosing an area of specialisation is beneficial to a nation.

Further, with a foundation of shared curriculum, it has a way of setting one for success with less input/effort. For instance, imagine if one started with a shared national curriculum and proceeded to college to specialise in becoming a Medical doctor perhaps with a reason of finding cure to diseases like HIV but later along the line discovered he has a strong interest in carrying out investigations, reports crime scenes and so on and decides to want to be a journalist. Such an individual can easily switch field based on the fact that, He/She already has a rudimentary background knowledge, a consequence of shared national curriculum. Imagine if it is one without the background knowledge, such a person will have to go a lot of years behind to begin. This can yield ugly results and it also requires more tenancity from the individual. With this, one can also see how a shared curriculum should be given priority.

In summary, if the 2 points stated are clearly looked into, one would admit that a shared curriculum would be key to preventing students from undertaking courses being imposed upon them by their parents as it would have been the case if they are not allowed to take part in a shared curriculum as many of them are likely to be undecided about the right career path to follow at such an infant stage.