A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A national curriculum is a set of curated topics prepared by a body in charge of educational affairs in a country. While some might be in support of all of its students taking a generalized curriculum before going for specialization in college, others would be in support of a student sticking to a curriculum that tallies with a desired career path before entering College. With the two points outlined below, you will get to understand why I strongly believe students should take a unified curriculum before gaining admission to College.

To start with, students being allowed to take shared curriculum in a country is actually for a good cause. For instance, the educational standard followed in Nigeria allows student to use a shared curriculum for the first 9 years of their education. Afterwards, they can proceed to college to pick a career path to specialize in. During the course of their specialization, a general course is even still introduced that can come from any background but the students still get to ace the course due to their extensive background. Also, the shared curriculum allows students to have background knowledge of the field that exists so they are better informed when the time comes to follow a preferred career path. When they eventually graduate and get employed, they are usually adaptable and flexible, a result of their academic training. Taking a close look at this, one can see how students being allowed to take a uniform curriculum before picking a specialization greatly benefits a nation.

Further, with a foundation of shared curriculum, it has a way of setting one up for success with less demand/effort. For example, imagine if one started his academics based on a shared national curriculum and proceeded to college to specialize in becoming a Medical Doctor perhaps with a reason of finding cure to diseases such as HIV but later along the line finds out that He has a strong interest in carrying out investigations and reporting crime scenes and decides He wants to be a Journalist, such an individual can easily switch field based on the fact that while growing up, He has been provided with the rudiments to thrive in any career part, a consequence of a shared national curriculum. Imagine how such a career change can be demanding for one who is not a product of a shared curriculum. With this, one can see how a nation should honestly adopt a shared national curriculum at the early stages of the students' education.

In summary, meticulously considering the two points identified, one would admit that a shared national curriculum would be key to preventing students from undertaking courses being imposed upon them by their parents or guardians which would have been the case if a Nation does not support a shared national curriculum as many would still be undecided about the right career path at such an infant stage.