A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until the enter college.

In the realm of education and curriculum, one finds a multifaceted landscape of perspectives and notions, each as diverse as the individual who contemplates it. The issue at hand here has ignited many arguments and debates with each side of the argument being equally compelling. Considering this multifarious discourse, it is evident that we need to delve deep into both sides of these arguments before making an informed choice of the path that we would want our future generations to follow. I truly believe that having the same national curriculum till one enters college is of utmost importance for the all-round development and well-being of a student.

Firstly and foremost we must realize that a child's mind is in flux as they are growing up and it only gets a semblance of stability as they enter college. This flux in turn results in a child shuffling from the attraction of one profession to another within a matter of few days. This instability coupled with the different curricula for different professions even in high school can have disastrous consequences. Hence it is of utmost importance that we do not expect a child to choose a profession and stick to it for the rest of their time in such a nascent stage of their adolescence.

Secondly, we must appreciate the concept of shifting between cities or even countries due to political, socio-economic or various other factors. In such a scenario if different curricula are being followed a student who is shifting schools may find it difficult to adapt and hence lose all interest in academia. Further, there is also a risk that they might miss out on certain learnings during this transition and he or she may not even realize that they have missed out on it. Having a common curriculum will allow the student to shift seamlessly with respect to their education and also be able to pinpoint exactly what they have missed out and cover it up in due time.

I do appreciate the problems that might come with enforcing the policy of national curriculum but I strongly believe it's a case of pros outweighing the cons. For example, one might say that each student is not academically gifted to grasp all the concepts, but I feel that even if they are able to grasp a majority of it then it will have a positive impact on their life as well as their careers. Secondly, some might say that it is stifling innovation, but as a solution for that, we could have electives that can be taught for interest without any compulsion and without having evaluations on it.

As this topic of common national curriculum till college continues to occupy a central position in contemporary discourse, it is evident that both paths are fraught with complexities. However, if we delve deep into these complexities, we may come up with a solution so as to improve the current education system and policies which can lead future generations to even loftier standards. Having said that, I still hold on to the belief that some form of common education curriculum is the need of the hour if we are to increase the literacy of the world and accelerate the progress of development.