A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given issue prompt states that all students in the country should study the same curriculum till they enter college. The topic raises the controversial issue of how this requirement shall affect the growth and development of the students in the nation. Nevertheless, studying the same curriculum may equip the students with basic knowledge in all the fields.

Primarily, having different curriculums across the nation may alter the overall development of the nation. Certain parts of the nation may be high in the overall quality of the education whereas other parts may be lagging behind. To have a uniformity across the nation and instill equanimity among students, it is necessary to have the same curriculum. For example,in countries like India the curriculum is variegated. Though there is a national curriculum, the various states still have a state curriculum on their own. Many students are educated only in the state curriculum. This difference in education imparts a knowledge level setback in the students.

Next in line, studying the same national curriculum helps the student to explore various fields and have basic knowledge of the principles that govern it. All developed countries follow a national curriculum. For example, it will be necessary for all students irrespective of their fields to have a basic understanding of their internal body system and its functioning.

Furthermore, following the same curriculum till they enter college will help the student to have a better perspective of the various fields. At the collegiate level, the student will have the maturity to analyse and decide upon what field he is interested in. But making the students decide at a younger age may make the students to repent at a later phase of their life.

Still, if the national curriculum is diversed before the student enters the college, it may help in producing excellent students with great potentials. Certain states in the nation may have a target to excel in certain field, so these states may emphasize their curriculum to be designed in such a way it gives more importance only to that field of interest giving poor importance to others.

Thus in its totality, it will be more effective to have a uniform curriculum rather than a diversified one across the nation. Uniform curriculum should be designed in such a way it addresses all basic principles that govern the various fields. All students in the nation should have knowledge in all spheres of life.