A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A nation's development relies on new ideas and inventions. Ones that change the way we think and live. This would not be possible without such a diverse society that challenge and pushes one another. A standard national curriculum for a nation would be harmful to the development of individuality and hinder the diversity of its students.

There are virtuality endless disciplines ranging from the fine arts to science and only a limited time to learn them. Typically, schools must choose which subjects to focus on. The natural variability of these schools would compensate for the inability for individual schools to cover all subjects. But if a nation were to require all schools to teach the same curriculum, certain disciplines would have to be left out. How would we be able to objectively judge which area of study is superior to another? What criteria would we base it on?

A curriculum that teaches and tests its students on a narrow range of subjects is certain to exclude individuals. People are proficient in similar tasks or subjects. A student that is excellent in Mathematics could struggle in English. Another student may be a musical genius but be totally lost in history. A standardized curriculum would not be able to accommodate this natural variability among students--- It would favor one group over the next.

The extent of this effect would ultimately be felt once students enter society or higher education like college. Schools would only produce cookie cutter minds and thus a very limited skill set. Having interdisciplinary skills and solutions is what allows innovation and new approaches to the problems we as a nation face. Innovations that create life-saving technologies like the defibrillator, which combines physiology with engineering. Or green energy solutions like the solar panels, which would not be here without an understanding of material science and electrical science.

It is very evident that without a diverse mindset many technologies and innovations today would not be here. A nation that enforces a standard national curriculum would select out individuals and ultimately hinder the diversity of its students.