Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is hard to watch the late night news without being updated on the most recent scandals. Hollywood and government alike, individuals are constantly being exposed to the public for despicable actions. It is hard to imagine such horrible actions can have any positives but scandals bring attention to individuals’ true nature and provide prime examples of the advantages they take.

Scandals allow the general public to see hidden aspects of popular individuals. Everything from political to celebrity scandals, provides insight to hidden aspects that even the victim tries to disassemble. Especially in politics, this is allows transparency in people who we plan to elect for the purpose of making decisions affecting our lives. Just like the watergate scandal resulted in the resignation of president Nixon, scandals bring attention and action to those involved.

Not only is attention brought to the individuals involved in scandals, but the various laws and loopholes that allowed them to occur. All this attention focuses efforts to prevent it from happening again. New laws and reforms inhibits or dissuades others to follow. With loopholes being filled in, society can drive along a little smoother and easier.

However, scandals are not always productive especially when false. Used often in politics, fake accusations towards opponents can often gravitate focus away from important issues. Accusations made towards Barack Obama during his campaign for president took both the media’s and the public's attention. Many individuals --- without knowing his stance of important issues--- rose against him, questioning him based on false accusations.

Scandals are often a great way of exposing depraved individuals and brings political or society loopholes to light.