A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

First, a national curriculum such as I have grown up with through high school in the United States, i.e. the Common Core and standardized testing, has many benefits. For example, some school districts are underfunded and underserved, yet the national curriculum provides measurable goals which require teachers to bring students up to a minimum level of understanding of such important life lessons as basic algebra, economics, and U.S. history. At this point, the U.S. is not even succesfully meeting this standard threshold; some TV shows feature segments where average U.S. citizens on the street cannot name key historical dates or do basic math. Therefore, it is important to keep the national curricuculum as a standard of pre-college education. Even if the standard was being perfectly met in the U.S. and the average citizen could pass a TV show's questioning, the national curriculum should be maintained because it equips every citizen with the essential knowledge and lessons that are the basic building blocks of thriving in the U.S.

However, it may be argued that there is value in educating students according to their special skills and doing away with a national curriculum for specialty schools. For example, the magnet schools and art schools in my city are the best in the country. Students may have a calling besides U.S. history and migh tbe most valuable to the country as deep learners of one subject, rather than broad learners of many basic subjects. Do dancers really need to be able to do algebra and name the year of our country's founding? I believe they do, and even the magnet and arts schools that I know hold to the standard of teaching the national curriculum. The only drawback for these specialty schools is that students have a heavier, more intensive load of classes with both the deep learning of their talents and the broad learning of the national curriculum to manage, but they reap the rewards of the schools' prestige, are better candidates for college, and will be more succesful citizens for taking on the extra challenge.

Last, I would heartily disagree with a national curriculum that eliminated classes like art and sports from education before college and only the national curriculum itself was taught. This system would tip the scale far away from the strong entrepneurship and diversity of skilled labor the U.S. currently boasts in its population and instead create a bland, unspecialized workforce that could not lead the global market in practically any area, except maybe in writing U.S. history books.

Overall, the national curriculum I grew up with benefitted my college-readiness and work force-readiness hugely. I became accustomed to standardized testing from a young age, my scores were measurable according to national averages so that my instructors knew which areas of their classes I needed help in, and I was able to study subjects both broadly and deeply, by testing in the Common Core while taking art and sports classes. Therefore, the U.S. model of requiring a national curriculum before college should continue.