A nation should require all it's students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education in the modern world is a weapon given to each child from his/her parents. As often seen education has the power to change the course of a person's life and hence is given utmost priority in bringing up a child. But in recent few years many societies believe education to be the only gateway to the success of an individual. Barring the fact that each individual is a separate entity many people see education as the sole thruster in an individual's life.

This thought provokes the need of providing similar educational syllabus to each student without considering the fact that each possess different abilities and has unique strengths. The whole process of this type of education system leads to a herd's mentality where neglecting own's strengths students often follow the trends an choose an inappropriate career.

The idea of same curriculum for the whole nation seems to be obtuse as each state of a nation has different strengths. Some states produce word class athletes while some are home to talented artists. Thus implementing the idea of same curriculum for whole nation somehow forces young budding talents to leave their hobbies and focus more on studies. As in case of India each state has its own education board where the academic skills of a student are judged on their caliber.

Another loophole that is quite evident in this sort of education plan is that learning ability and interests of each student are different according to their brain development. Some students learn early while some are some are slow learners. What this education system does is ,leaves a student with slow learning ability to resort with a mediocre life. As for example Thomas Edison was himself a slow learner but turn out to be modern great when it comes to modern scientists.

When the interests of a student are not in sync with what he is taught it often leads to despair regarding studies. Where a young mind unable to rectify reason for his lost interest despises the source of it.

A fitting solution for this problem is creation of levels in an education system where till an elementary level the curriculum is same for all the students. When teachers realize that a student is mature enough he should be allowed to choose his subjects. Another important thing is to include some necessary subjects such as mathematics which have application in daily life, but to a level where it is useful and doesn't add up as burden.