A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is said that knowledge is power and ideally everyone should have access to the same opportunities to obtain this knowledge. However, due to different curriculum followed across nation, some are ahead in the curve. Adoption of a common curriculum until students enter college is a cucumbersome task which is not always feasible especially in large nations.

In demographically large nations, the culture and history varies drastically from one end to the other. In such a scenario, the priority to preserve endemic history is much higher. For example in India, Bengal might want children of their region to learn about the struggles in Great Bengal Famine, whereas Maharashtra might want their children to learn about the accolades of Shivaji. Thus priorities change even within the same nation. This would promote preservation of regional culture but at the same time it prevents a national sentiment among students.

Even if it were possible to combine the interests of various regions to create a common curriculum then also there is a question of student interest in the subject. The onus should be provided on student to take up those subjects which appeal to them. This would help them later in their careers to choose the streams of their choice. A counterargument against this could be that the children in that age group are naive and not capable enough to take such important decisions.

Additionaly, it is very difficult to find teachers of some specific subject in all the areas. Let us say Hindi was considered in the curriculum as a language subject. Schools would be hard pressed to find the teachers of Hindi in areas where Hindi is not a local language. Such impediments would lead to degradation of entire quality of education which is against the objective.

All being said, the aforementioned measure if implemented thoughtfully with precision will have certain advantages. It might help students of different regions to be on same level on learning, ignoring individual capabilities. That will be most beneficial in standerdised tests as no additional tutoring is required. This eases the financial burden from parents. The measure will also help in coalescing national sentiment in students from an early age as they will understand the culture and difficulties of different areas of nation.

Implementing a national curriculum will be a difficult measure to adopt due to innumerable challenges. If implemented after proper research and with due care then it will be beneficial to nation beyond measure. However if improperly implemented then it can lead to deteriration of edution in various parts of nation.