A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

The education system serves a vital role, perhaps even the most important role, in all developed countries. Therefore, any education reform should undergo an extensive scrutiny before it is put in place. While the recommendation to standardize all pre-college education has its merits, the government should implement such a drastic change with caution as it might hinder the proper development of talented pupils.

Viewing the education system as a whole, total standardization promises many desirable effects. For instance, universities could admit students based on their grades because they would be comparable across different school and both universities and employers could rely on students having certain minimum knowledge in all areas listed in the national curriculum after graduating high school. Comparable education across all groups of graduates, be it pupils from overcrowded public schools or students attending selective private institutions, would also break down some of the divides between economic classes making kids of both wealthy and poor parents equally attractive to prospective employers and universities. With the wealth inequality rising at an alarming rates in countries including the USA, such changed could combat this problem by serving as an equalizer.

However, such promises are too good to be true. While following the standardized curriculum would lead to the same level of education on paper, the implementation of the recommendation would play out completely differently depending on the means of a particular school. Teaching in public school with populous classes would inevitably gloss over many complex topics in the curriculum due to a lack of time for attending to struggling students individually, whereas private school could afford to properly go though each topic and make sure it pupil understands it thoroughly. Furthermore, parents exercise more control over the format of lessens in private school and would pressure the teachers to cover additional topic outside of the national curriculum to better prepare their children for future studies. Therefore, national curriculum would be deceptive in its ability to equalize education among school with different means.

Last but not least, exception talents often manifests itself before a pupil reaches university. To cater to these students and nurture their talents, various specialized institutions exist. For example, high school focused on music serve musical prodigies and mathematical gymnasiums search for future great mathematicians. Rolling out a standardized system rigidly, without any regard to various abberations in the existing system, would hinder the ability of the system to find and nurture exceptionally talented pupils In conclusion, a standardized curriculum could change the education system for the better, providing similar education to all students. However, we should not be deceived by its promises, as its not a silver bullet for all social problems. Furthermore, if the curriculum is too rigid, it could hurt some groups of students.