"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college"

A national curriculum clubbed with administrative options could be a very powerful tool to guide the youth towards an informed and educationally enlightened path. It is very imperative to guide the youth impeccably, for it them who will bear the responsibilities of the nation tomorrow. A uniform national curriculum could prove very useful, as it would generalize the concepts taught till the high school level, thereby eliminating the requirement of different colleges teaching different basic college-level courses in the freshmen year. Colleges, to normalize the different educational levels of the students, offer compulsory basic college-level courses at the beginning of their programmes. Elimination of these, that is if the uniform national curriculum is adept, could save valuable time as students can now directly employ their faculties for the specialized field in which they are majoring. This would save time and efforts of both the sides, the instructors and the students. Also, for the college administrative the uniform curriculum would mean a uniform evaluating landscape thereby reducing the need and the time to take different tests to gauge the general aptitude of the applicants, it could now take specialized tests as per the specific department's requirement. This would also reduce the time and stress on the students who are required to write a series of admission tests even for a small selection of colleges. They could begin by focusing on the field of their interest and judge in the process of preparation if the field they selected would appeal to them later on.

Taking these factors into account I would support the motion that there be a uniform national curriculum for school students. It has also been evident from the historical shift of school curriculum towards the national board curriculum after independence in India, more and more schools are now adopting the central board of secondary education (CBSE) curriculum. A similar trend is also observed among the parents, they opting for schools which offer CBSE curriculum. Even at the school level for the students who transfer schools frequently find it beneficial to study in schools with a similar curriculum. Therefore, in the light of all these arguments, I support the notion that there be a uniform national school curriculum.