A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation’s decision of whether to require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college is not an easy one. If fact, it is not uncommon that within a nation you have different regions all studying different curriculum. The prompt recommends that a nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the suggestion and argue that a nation should standardize the curriculum based on two reasons.

Those opposed to a standardized curriculum may argue that such a curriculum may limit students with unique skills and abilities. For example, it is not uncommon for many schools to have advanced math and science programs for students that excel in these areas. However, by forcing everyone to take the same curriculum, you may risk limiting these students and not allow them to fully develop their skills and potential. In addition, by forcing the same curriculum onto all children, you may risk kids not being able to explore all their interests; thus, leading to high school graduates who don’t know what they want to pursue in college. Overall, these examples show how a standardized curriculum could lead one to support the idea that teaching the same national curriculum to everyone may limit students’ abilities to fully develop their skills and abilities, as well as explore their interests.

Although this is a compelling argument, I still mostly agree that the same national curriculum should be taught to all students. One reason is because it ensures that all students are meeting a certain standard of competency and ability, and not just attending schools with easier programs. For example, in the United States, southern states such as Mississippi, Alabama, and Louisiana are frequently near the bottom in terms of standardized test scores for middle and high school students. These test scores primarily hinge on math, science, and reading and writing courses taught within the schools. However, upon closer analysis, it becomes apparent that these states often skimp on these vital courses. Another example is language courses such as Spanish. In the United States, Spanish is frequently taught in southwest border states such as California, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas and often requires two or more years of language. However, many norther region schools (which overwhelmingly speak English) often don’t have these requirements, or at best only require one year of language. That said, these examples show that in order to ensure all students meet a certain level of competency and ability, the same national curriculum should be taught to all students.

The second reason I believe the same curriculum should be taught to all students is because it will significantly streamline the educational process and could lead to reduced costs. For example, faculty often spend a lot of time and tax payer money “hotly” debating which courses should be utilized within their region. However, by having a set standard, everyone would know exactly which courses needed to be completed, so there would be no need to debate or lobby for a specific curriculum; thus, saving schools a lot of time and money. In addition, schools would be able to properly plan their yearly educational budget because they would know the exact courses that would be taught and their associated costs; which would again streamline the educational process.

Overall, this is a very complex issue with no easy answers. One could argue that the same national curriculum should not be taught so students are not limited by a “set” curriculum and can fully explore their interests. However, I believe that the same national curriculum should be taught to all students until they enter college. This will ensure that all students meet a certain standard of competency and ability and will also streamline the educational process and could lead to reduced costs for schools.