A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The education system that a nation develops and introduces to its students can have a major impact on that nation's future. Whether students should be required to study the same national curriculum until college, as introduced in the prompt, is a major topic of discussion. I strongly believe that all students should be exposed to the same material until they reach college, at which point they may choose to pursue their own passions and interests. My claim is based on two main reasons.

First of all, differences in curriculum will inherently create an advantage for some students entering college. For instance, let's take two prospective students, in different curriculums, that are applying for college to get into an engineering program. If one curriculum was heavily math and science based, then the student studying that curriculum would have an unfair advantage when applying to college over the student in another curriculum. The student in the math and science curriculum would undoubtly convince the engineering program that he or she is a better prospect for that program based on his or her pre-college studies. By requiring all student to engange in the same national curriculum, this inherent bias is removed and all students get a fair shot at applying for their desired college programs on the basis of individual accomplishment, rather than curricular advantages.

Additionally, requiring students to study the same national curriculum will result in a more passionate and diverse work-force in the nation's future. For instance, a student studying a curriculum that is heavily skewed towards engineering, might never get the chance to discover their passion for arts or history. Then, that student may live their whole life, never being at his or her full potential. This would create a work-force that is not engaged in their jobs, and therefore not producing the full output that a nation needs. Therefore, having a balanced national curriculum for everyone benefits the nation in the long-run due to a more passionate work-force.

Some people may argue that having differing curriculums across the nation will help to test what curriculum works best. However, there are various ways to test the performance of a curriculum and the inherent bias in having different curriculums should be reason enough to implement a national curriculum. After all, the future of the younger generation may determine the future of the whole nation.