A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum

Education system is certainly the most important aspect that a nation should consider. While education has existed for millenia, there is still no proper way to define a perfect education system. Having a same curriculum would standardize the education practices in a country but at the same time it could be adverse in some aspects. By allowing students to choose their own courses will help draw out their true potential.

Firstly, taking a nation as a whole doesn't work at all times. Most nations have a diverse population, culture, history and even languages. For instance, a country like India - every single state has a different language, culture, literature and history. Trying to set up a single education system in such countries would be impossible and cannot be a good idea. By do so will actually to eradicate the regional languages, literature and history.

Secondly, students tend to choose a variety of subjects based on their interest. Having a standard national curriculum would actually resist few students and force them to study the subjects which they otherwise wouldn't have chosen. Having a diversity in education system actually helps to promulgate creativity and creative students. For example, some of the students might be interested in pure science and some might find it difficult to even get a pass grade in that subject. But he/she would be exceptionally talented in mathematics or literature or arts. In this case having a customised curriculum and not the standard ones would work.

Having said all this, while it may be helpful to have standardised exams and education system in a country; it entirely depends upon how diverse the country is. In order to bring out more creative and passionate students, there should be a customizable curriculum and not a standard ones. Therefore a nation should not need all of its students to study the same curriculum because each student will aspire to have different career path.