A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Having a common national curriculum in school is beneficial for the students and would shape them to be better citizens of the nation and the world. It would serve as a common platform for understanding the subjects of national scope and enable students to be more decisive about what they would like to pursue in college.

In order to have the youth of a nation become responsible global citizens, it would be necessary for them to know the broader aspects of the contemporary world around them. Further, being citizens of their own country, it would be their duty to know a fair bit about their nation such as their culture, history, demographics, languages, resources, economy and so on. Such an understanding can be assured if there exists a standard nation-wide curriculum that would accomodate for those subjects. When subjects like history, civics and geography are made mandatory in school, every high school graduate would have adequate knowledge about their country.

Many young high school students would be unsure about what they would like to pursue later in college. When exposed to a standardized curriculum which exposes them to a number of possible career paths, the students would be able to recognize their interests and choose the course of their interest to pursue in college. Courses like science and mathematics would interest some while bore others. But the basic understanding of such elementary subjects is essential for survival in the present world.

Further, having a common nation-wide curriculum would help in having common nation-wide tests which can be used to assess the performance of the students in a national level. Such examinations can be used as a standard to evaluate a student's academic performance.

While it is arguable that students studying subjects that do not align with their interests is a waste of time, such subjects could nevertheless turn out to be useful in the future. Steve Jobs himself took up art related courses like calligraphy which years later helped Apple design multiple font faces we now see in word processing software.

It is therefore more beneficial for students to learn a common nation-wide curriculum which would give them the right exposure for them to later pursue a career in their field of interest.