Nations Should Suspend Government Funding For The Arts

Morally, it makes sense for the government to take into consideration the plight of the unemployed and the hungry rather than fund art-based programs and activities. Indeed the unemployed and the hungry lack basic necessities such as shelter, food and clothing, and consequently they deserve attention from their respective governments. However, the question of whether to withhold funds or not should consider the complexity that surrounds the situation, the tradeoffs and then choose the best alternative thereafter. Cutting of government funds meant for arts will not necessarily solve the situation, rather art should act as an incentive for spurring social and economic welfare of the citizens.

Firstly, arts and related activities play important role in the economy and therefore government investment is key to the prosperity of the sector and economy. In a developed country like the US, the arts industry generated a lot of revenues. Moreover, the arts sector employs artisans and attracts a significant number of tourists. Music concerts and festival have attracted tourist and revelers from various parts of the world earning host nations foreign exchange and tax revenues.

In developing nations, government funding is minimal, however, the steady and regular disbarments of the fund help in sustaining the sector by and resultantly boosting tourism and economic growth. Since the low-income economies largely depend on government subsidies and grants from philanthropy for survival, the suspension of the grants will worsen the situation by triggering a chain of negative economic and social outcomes including; dwindling marketing and promotion activities, reduced ticket sales, loss of jobs, drop in patronage, and antisocial behavior like aggression

Secondly, the benefits of arts transcend beyond the economic realm. Arts and related performances have a phenomenal impact on the social growth and psychological well-being of the populations. It is worth noting that music is gaining relevance in medical centers as therapy for relieving pain to patients with chronic diseases like cancer. Arts provide a platform for self-expression, spurring motivation and hope yet these intangible and immeasurable benefits are largely overlooked. Additionally, music helps in the healing process by providing emotional balance to patients. The population also get inspiration, integration, and entertainment from various pieces of art including spoken and written art to work out their way to success.

Further, suspending the aid and rechanneling the money to directly support the unemployed and the hungry will create a dependency situation. In particular, food aid is strongly linked to dependency especially when it intentionally made a long term strategy for solving hunger and other nutritional needs. Stanford (2015), argues that dependency reduces the local economies capacities to produce and sustain itself. When the government decides to import cheap foreign commodities local industries and agricultural activities collapse resulting to further unemployment. The funds that will be earned from cultural tourism and additional government channeled on sustainable projects like irrigation, development of hybrid crops and pest control. Notably, Botswana a developing country channeled its project on areas of interests which eventually saw declined in foreign and local aid dependency (Stanford, 2015).

Conclusively, the decision to suspend aid should take into consideration the benefits, unforeseen ramifications and alternatives to effectively solve the problem of unemployment. Evidently, the arts sector bears economic potential as well as incalculable social and health benefits that may help alleviate suffering and poverty among populations.