No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

In this era where information and knowledge are growing at an exponential rate and findings in a domain are applied across other domains more than ever, the prompt states that for any field to progress, it must rely on information and findings from other fields. I mostly agree with the prompt. However, I do concede that some specific fields are relatively independent and can advance without extraneous knowledge from other domains.

Firstly, the majority of the fields in the present day world are directly based on other fields. And, most of the ideas of a field are based upon the results derived from another field. For example, the very existence of robotics, space-tech, engineering and other related fields are because of the proofs of the formulas and concepts of math. If math wouldn’t have existed, then most of the findings in the said fields would be uninterpretable. Therefore, it is to be understood that a field is based on the knowledge and information churned out by other fields and no field is absolutely independent.

Secondly, although there are some fields that are not entirely based on other fields, the advancement of the said fields mainly involves experiences and knowledge gained from other fields. For example, entrepreneurship is a field that appears as if it were independent and it could thrive without the intervention of any other fields. But, the whole point of entrepreneurship is to have domain knowledge and a specific problem to solve with the help of the said domain. Likewise, journalism, although appearing as an independent field, heavily relies on tech and other related fields for its advancement. This is evident from the fact that the whole world can learn about a fact that has happened seconds ago, which is a significant advancement directly caused by leveraging technology. Therefore, using the knowledge and experiences from other fields plays a pivotal role in advancing a field.

However, there exists some niche fields that are relatively independent of the other and the advancement of the field does not depend on any other extraneous knowledge. For example, psychology is a field that involves study of the behaviors of humans and the like, and to a major extent, has its own mysterious principles. Likewise, other fields like geography, sales, marketing, etc do not majorly depend on other fields for their advancement. Therefore, some fields can thrive independently without major assistance of ideas from other fields.

In conclusion, it is by leveraging the learnings and experiences of the other fields collectively, that a field can achieve significant progress. This is because advancement of the said field mainly leverages the learnings from other fields. Although, there appears to be some niche fields which appear to be independent, interdisciplinary research is very essential to advancing the collective knowledge of mankind as a whole.