one should only take risk after carefully calculating the consequences

It took 70000 years to evolve from apes to sapiens. We see many species of same genes everywhere around. But genes of homos have only single species remained, we, the Sapiens. It didn't occur overnight but required struggle ranging from finding food for eating to habitat. But still, after all, Neanderthals, Floronsis, Eractas, etc got extinct except us. Because we are risk-takers.

Risk-taking is genetically encoded in our DNA. 13 Millenials ago, we lived in harmony with other species of humans. But there was a little different in their genetic structure and us. We traveled from western Africa towards central Asia, Eurasia, Europe, Eastern Asia, Southern Asia, Australia, Alaska, North America and then to Southern America populating each and every corner of our home planet. However, Neanderthals, on the other hand, stayed around the same region of Nehandher valley around the Eurasia region. And when an epidemic had spread across, they didn't make it to the 21st century, while we are splitting atoms and exploring mars beyond every capability of early humans.

Humans were always good at risk-taking. We never required to move out of our comfort region and go on a never-ending voyage of the open sea back then.